gingerbread waffles with vanilla cranberry sauce

DSC_1285

I think I have a slight obsession with breakfast.

 . . . Ok, so maybe it’s not so slight.  Allow me to rephrase.

I have a full-blown obsession with breakfast.  I do.  And I’m not afraid to admit to it.

DSC_1243

A few weeks ago, my grandma spent the night at our house.  She took us out to dinner at this awesome restaurant, CoolFish, where we ate . . . and ate . . . and ate.  Honestly, I’m surprised I was able to stand up and walk out of there after the delicious (but incredibly filling) courses that I had.  It was insane. 

(To be fair, I think I was also insane to think that I could eat: a slice of beat and goat cheese tarte tatin, ahi tuna over Asian style noodles, and a slice of Jack Daniel’s chocolate pecan pie and white chocolate gelato.  Yeah . . . my eyes were definitely bigger than my stomach that night.) 

As soon as we got home, we all passed out on the couch.  What a way to spend a Friday night.

DSC_1233

The next morning, I woke up well before my grandma, giving me plenty of time to decide what to make for breakfast.

Gingerbread Waffles with Vanilla Cranberry Sauce.  Done deal.

She waited patiently while I brewed the coffee, whipped up the batter, heated up the waffle iron, and made the sauce.  The house was beginning to smell like the rich molasses, the spicy cinnamon, and of course, the pungent ginger that was in the batter. 

I couldn’t wait to take the first bite. 

The two of us dove right into the waffles.  They were crispy on the outside while still tender on the inside, and packed just enough of that promised gingerbread “punch.”  That with the sweet-but-tangy cranberry sauce – oh my goodness.  Too good.

DSC_1249

My grandma couldn’t get over how “exotic” this breakfast was. 

Personally, I wouldn’t call it “exotic.”  I mean, I didn’t go to Saigon to get special cinnamon or Madagascar to get the best vanilla.  But I still knew what she meant. 

Aside from being delicious, this breakfast was also special.  The perfect start to any Saturday, for sure.

DSC_1262

 

Gingerbread Waffles

Adapted from Inn Cuisine

Yields 3 Full-Sized Belgium Waffles

– 1 C. All Purpose Flour

– 1 tsp. Baking Powder

– 1 tsp. Baking Soda

– 1 tsp. Ground Ginger

– ¾ tsp. Ground Cinnamon

– 1/8 tsp. Ground Cloves

– ¼ tsp. Kosher Salt

– 1/3 C. Packed Brown Sugar

– ¼ C. Molasses

– 1 Egg

– ¾ C. Buttermilk

– 3 Tbsp. Butter, Melted

– ¼ tsp. Vanilla Extract

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, and salt.  In a separate bowl, beat together egg, buttermilk, molasses, brown sugar, butter, and vanilla extract.  Add buttermilk mixture to flour mixture.  Beat until combined – do not over-mix. 

Spoon batter onto preheated and grease waffle iron (make sure the batter covers the plates well).  Cook according to manufacturer’s instructions until golden brown.  

To keep waffles warm or crisp the exterior, place waffles on a cooling rack set over a baking sheet.  Keep in 250 degree F oven until ready to serve. 

Vanilla Cranberry Sauce

-12 oz. Fresh Cranberries

– ½ C. Fresh Orange Juice

– ½ C. Water

– ½ C. Granulated Sugar

– ½ C. Maple Syrup (Grade A, Amber)

– 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

In a sauce pot, mix together cranberries, orange juice, water, and sugar.  Cook over medium-low heat until the cranberries begin to burst and the mixture begins to thicken, about 20 minutes.  Reduce to low heat.  Add in syrup and cook for another 20 minutes, until the sauce becomes even thicker (kind of like a jam).  Remove from heat.  Add in vanilla extract.

Printer- Friendly Recipe (Full Recipe)

DSC_1284

5 Responses to “gingerbread waffles with vanilla cranberry sauce”

  1. Your grandma sounds adorable! And super sweet.

    And this gets added to the list of myriad reasons why I NEED a waffle iron in my life!

  2. This looks and sounds delicious!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment