almond butter & jelly sandwich cookies

LR Sample Edit-4035

Sandwich cookies that look like little sandwiches, oh my!!

These cookies just might be the cutest baked goods I’ve ever made [that’s right, I’m not afraid to (not-so) humble-brag]. And so, in my excitement (and also good fortune for having such great natural light at the time of this photo shoot), I took a boatload of pictures.

In other words: Prepare yourselves.

LR Sample Edit-3969

In my 2.5 years of blogging, I’ve never posted a recipe containing peanut butter… because I’m allergic (woooo, fun fact!). Instead, I choose to give you lots and lots of other recipes containing almond butter and other delicious nuts. Hope you don’t mind!

LR Sample Edit 3-3822 LR Sample Edit-3846

When I was younger, I used to be really sensitive about my allergy (which, in retrospect, is something I laugh about). Case in point: In third grade, one of my classmates decided to wave a bag of peanuts in front of my face (why? I guess that’s just what 9 year-olds do). My best friend (still to this day!) came to my defense and yelled at the other girl, “What are you doing?! That could kill Kim!” At that, I was immediately embarrassed and started to cry at the lunch table. (In reality, I should have been happy that my best friend stuck up for me – even as a peewee youngin’.)

The one and only time I ever cried in school was over peanuts. Cool.

LR Sample Edit-3909 LR Sample Edit-3914

Luckily, I had lots of other peanut butter alternatives. Sunflower seed butter, soybean butter, Trader Joe’s sushi…? Yup. That happened. (Yeah… I was the kid who brought the weird lunches. I just like to think I was ahead of all the food trends. No big deal.)

LR Sample Edit-4075

Here’s the thing: They say as you get older, you get wiser (by the way, who is this “they?”). In this case: False. Admittedly, I’m pretty lax about checking ingredients in granola bars and other potential peanut pitfalls.

LR Sample Edit-3927 LR Sample Edit-3978

What’s funny about allergies is that the root of the problem is the protein. So when I realized that I had been eating peanut flour-containing granola bars for a while with no side-effects, I went all superwoman and thought that I had beat my allergy.

Again: False.

I went to an allergist whose results I still did not believe, so I took it upon myself to smear peanut butter on my forearm (Benadryl at the ready, for the record). Needless to say, I wound up with hives. Lots of them.

Don’t follow my example. Do. Not.

LR Sample Edit-4027 LR Sample Edit-4071

What is, however, a good idea, is making these cookies (now that you’re 100% sick of hearing my story about peanuts, I’m sure). The cookie dough itself is simple to throw together – just a few (very tasty) ingredients. Form ’em, refrigerate ’em, slice ’em, bake ’em. Aha! You’re almost at sandwich cookie that looks like a sandwich heaven! You could certainly mix up the fillings, but I decided to keep this as classic and nostalgic as possible with some almond butter and jelly (AB&J for the win!). It’s like childhood in the palm of your hand!

Lastly, I just want to give a quick shout out to Steph at Raspberri Cupcakes – her blog is one of my favorites. Months ago, I saw a cookie similar to these on her site which sat in the back of my mind until just recently. To me, that’s what recipes are all about – perpetuating inspiration in one way or another. So, to cheese up the end of this very long post, thanks for the inspiration, Steph!

LR Sample Edit-4004-2

Almond Butter & Jelly Sandwich Cookies
Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook

– 1 C. unsalted butter, at room temperature
– 1 C. brown sugar
– 2 egg yolks
– 1 tsp. vanilla extract
– 2 ½ C. all purpose flour
– 1 scant tsp. salt
– 2 Tbsp. granulated sugar
– 1 tsp. cinnamon

– 1/3 C. almond butter (or other nut butter of your choice) → equivalent to 1 tsp. per sandwich (16 tsp. total)
– 1/3 C. blackberry jelly (or other jelly or jam of your choice) → equivalent to 1 tsp. per sandwich (16 tsp. total)

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat together butter and brown sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl; add egg yolks and vanilla and beat to combine. In a separate bowl, mix together flour and salt. Add flour mixture to butter mixture. Beat until combined (should look like wet sand).

Turn dough out onto work surface; knead a few times until the dough comes together into a ball. Divide dough in half. Set each half on plastic wrap or parchment paper and form into a 7” by 1.5” log. To shape the log like bread, square off the bottom of the log but allow the top to stay rounded. Take the long side of a ruler and make an indent about 1/3 of the way down from the top of the log; the indentation should run the entire length of the log and be well-defined enough to withstand baking. Repeat on the other side of the log. Take the ruler and make a slightly lighter indentation along the top of the log. Repeat process with other log of dough. Wrap tightly in plastic or parchment paper and let refrigerate for at least an hour, or overnight.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment and set aside. Remove dough from refrigerator and unwrap. In a small bowl, combine granulated sugar and cinnamon. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar mixture over logs of dough; using your hands, rub mixture into top and sides of log. All sides should be coated. Using a very sharp knife, slice logs into 1/4” thick pieces. Lay slices on parchment paper about an inch apart. Bake for about 15 – 18 minutes, rotating the baking sheets halfway through, until the cookies are golden brown around the edges. Remove from oven and let cool on baking sheets for about 5 minutes. Transfer to cooling racks and cool the rest of the way.

Once cookies are cooled, it’s time to assemble the sandwiches! Take 2 cookies and lay them with the flatter side facing up (the side that was against the baking sheet). Put 1 teaspoon each of almond butter and jelly on either cookie; join both halves. Filling will ooze out of the cookie; if you want them to be a little less messy, cut back on the fillings. Repeat filling process with remaining cookies.

Store unfilled cookies in an airtight container until you’re ready to assemble them. Assembled cookies are best served right away, though can keep in an airtight container for a couple days (may have to be refrigerated depending on nut butter and jelly you use; refer to packaging).

Yields 16 Sandwich Cookies OR (if you forgo the sandwiches) 32 Sliced Brown Sugar Icebox Cookies

Printer-Friendly Version

17 Responses to “almond butter & jelly sandwich cookies”

  1. Being Australian, I have never quite got the peanut butter and jelly combination. This however, looks right up my alley. Thank you!!!

  2. I love it :) I have to make some ^^ by the way I love the pictures :)

  3. How yummy looking! I am definitely trying these.

  4. These are both adorable and tantalizing. I shall have to make some–soon!

  5. Brilliantly fun snack! Also, as usual kudos for weaving the narrative in w/the recipe and photos. I think you need you’re own book, no… Channel!

  6. I love this story. There are foods i cant eat also. Now I don’t feel so alone.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

