toasted coconut & salted caramel rugelach

LR Sample Edit-3641

Question: Have you ever logged onto Facebook, skimmed through your News Feed, and then proceeded to spend the next 15-20 minutes looking at/ through your own page? (I’m talking pictures, old posts, the works.)

Welp, that sounded overly narcissistic.

For those of you who answered “no,” well, I guess I already lost ya. I guess you’re also a million times better at using your time productively. For those of you who answered “yes”… wait, did anyone else answer yes? Probably not – I’m just a weirdo, sometimes. Don’t mind me.

LR Sample Edit-3674

When I time travel through my past via Facebook, I think to myself things like “Ahhh, that was a great trip. I miss Canada.” “My hair was such a mess that day! I should have hidden from the camera.” “YES! A decent picture!” “I am the shortest person. Again.” “Yup, that’s me in plaid footie-pajamas.”

Things that matter, basically.

LR Sample Edit-3681 LR Sample Edit-3718

Being a blogger, I tend to do the same kind of thing – “thumb through” the archives of my site. Looking at the posts I’ve written over the past 2.5 years, I realize that, for at least the first year, I struggled to find my writing voice. I spent a while “trying on” different ones – straight humor (and by humor, I mean cheese-ball humor), sentimentality, nostalgia, storytelling… but nothing was 100% authentic. It was more so a reflection of being a new, eager, and impressionable blogger.

While it’s nearly impossible to pinpoint a consistent voice for the life of a blog because, let’s be honest, people and things change all the time (especially for someone my age), I can say for certain that I want TMB to be as authentic of a representation of myself as possible.

Sometimes that means sharing a snippet of a casual Friday afternoon T ride.

LR Sample Edit-3678

Generally speaking, I can’t complain about the public transportation in Boston. The subway (or T, as we call it) is pretty reliable and gets a girl where she needs to go. With one exception – the Green Line. I hate the Green Line.

Friday afternoon, I found myself on a particularly crowded Green Line train. For about 5 stops (roughly 5 minutes), I felt one of my fellow passenger’s eyes on me (granted, this could just be my paranoid brain talking… but I’m pretty positive it’s not). I was seated; he was standing up, facing my direction, and holding onto the grab bar that was on my side of the train. At stop 3 of the 5, a herd of people shoved off the train causing this stranger to arch his back and encroach on my personal space. Umm, hello sir, but your crotch is about 3 inches from my face. Time to back it up!

LR Sample Edit-3635

I was relieved when he finally did back it up. I was not relieved, however, when the seat next to me opened up and he decided to pop a squat. Really?! Once again, I felt the eyes. His loud gum chewing just added insult to injury – major pet peeve of mine right there. Sir, is it too much to ask that you not invade my personal space/ sit with your head clearly facing in my direction/ chomp gum so carelessly?

I have never been so happy to get off the Green Line.

I totally could have used a consoling hug by the end of that T ride. Or a rugelach because, well, they’re delicious and their shape kind of mimics that of a hug.

These rugelach are just all-around delicious. The dough is tender, flaky, and just sweet enough, while the filling is bursting with toasty, nutty flavors of coconut and almonds. Salted caramel is, of course, the kicker here, with a chewy bite and savory accent.

Skip the Green Line, embrace the rugelach!

LR Sample Edit-3700

Toasted Coconut & Salted Caramel Rugelach
Adapted from Ina Garten

Dough:
– 8 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
– 1/2-pound unsalted butter, at room temperature
– 1/4 cup granulated sugar
– 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
– 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
– 2 cups all-purpose flour

Filling & Assembly:
– 1 C. sweetened, shredded coconut, toasted
– ½ C. slivered almonds, toasted
– 6 Tbsp. granulated sugar
– 16 salted caramels, each chopped into eighths (I used pre-made from Trader Joe’s)
– 1 egg
– 1 Tbsp. heavy cream
– 3 Tbsp. raw sugar, for garnish

Make the Dough:
Cream the cream cheese and butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment until light. Add 1/4 cup granulated sugar, the salt, and vanilla. With the mixer on low speed, add the flour and mix until just combined. Dump the dough out onto a well-floured board and roll it into a ball. Cut the ball in quarters, wrap each piece in plastic, and refrigerate for 1 hour.

Make the Filling and Assemble:
In a small bowl, mix together toasted coconut, toasted almonds, and granulated sugar.

On a well-floured board, roll each ball of dough into a 9-inch circle. Sprinkle dough with ¼ of the filling; add ¼ of the chopped up caramels on top. Press the filling lightly into the dough. Cut the circle into 12 equal wedges—cutting the whole circle in quarters, then each quarter into thirds. Starting with the wide edge, roll up each wedge. Place the cookies, points tucked under, on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Repeat process with remaining quarters of dough. Chill rolled cookies for 30 minutes in the refrigerator.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a small bowl, beat together egg and heavy cream to make an egg wash. Brush each cookie with egg wash, then sprinkle with raw sugar. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until lightly browned. Move to a wire rack and let cool.

Store cookies in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Yields 4 Dozen Cookies

Printer-Friendly Version

11 Comments to “toasted coconut & salted caramel rugelach”

  1. Reblogged this on The Karaoke Networks Blog and commented:
    Yes, we do that all the time!

  2. I love rugelach more than anything! It’s funny being from NY, I feel that this is a normal dessert but I don’t know if anyone here in Ohio knows what it is. Also, I think its interesting how far this “salted caramel fad” is going. I have literally seen salted caramel everything and I love it, just as much as I love rugelach. I cannot wait to try this recipe and see if my friends like it too.

  3. They are so beautiful…and enticing ;) sorry about your T ride, there’re perv everywhere!

  4. these are lovely! i think i might have to make them, yum

  5. Looks like the rugelach are doing the Harlem shuffle. :-)

Leave a Reply

