strawberry funfetti pancakes

DSC_1606

Every once in a while I make a dish that makes me go “OH. MY. GOD.” when I take my first bite.  Then I have a moment of silence.  Then I take another bite and repeat.  It’s more or less a religious experience.

These are one of those dishes.

DSC_1680

Realistically, there’s nothing all that groundbreaking about a stack of pancakes with some strawberries and sprinkles.  But that doesn’t mean they’re not delicious, pretty, and (most importantly) fulfilling for my inner 7 year-old.

These pancakes were not the first thing I made since coming home for the summer, but I decided to post about these first cause I was so excited to share them.  And I have tons of pictures!

DSC_1568 DSC_1589

I”ve been home for about a week, and I have to say I’ve probably spent the most time in the kitchen.  Here’s a little list of how I’ve been spending my time:

  • Sleeping – 33%
  • Cooking – 35%
  • Cleaning up after cooking – 5%
  • Exercising – 10%
  • Going out – 10%
  • Other – 7%

Let’s be honest, I’m most likely overestimating the time I spend working out.  I mean, there’s only so much Winsor Pilates and treadmill running a girl can do without having legs that turn to complete Jell-O.

DSC_1652

Bathing suit season is just so scary, eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep! (Apparently that’s the noise I make when I find something scary…?)

Pancakes are a fantastic coping mechanism.

DSC_1664

These pancakes are tender and fluffy, like any good pancake should be.  The strawberries add a nice juicy and slightly acidic bite, while the nonpareils lend a bit of a crunch (and, of course, make for a beautiful, fun and playful looking plate of pancakes!). These pancakes are sweet without being overpoweringly so; a dusting of powdered sugar was all I needed on top, but butter and syrup would be lovely as well.

DSC_1706

Strawberry Funfetti Pancakes

Adapted from Joy of Baking

– 1 C. all purpose flour

– 2 Tbsp. granulated sugar

– 1 ½ tsp. baking powder

– ¼ tsp. kosher salt

– 1 C. whole milk

– 1 egg

– ½ tsp. vanilla extract

– 2 Tbsp. butter, melted

– 5 or 6 medium-sized strawberries, sliced about ¼ in. – ½ in thick

– nonpareils

additional butter or cooking spray for greasing pan/ griddle

In a small bowl, mix together milk, egg, and vanilla extract.  In a medium bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Make a well in the flour mixture and pour in the milk mixture.  Stir until just combined.  Add in melted butter and stir to combine.

Head a griddle or sauté pan over medium-low heat.  Butter or spray with cooking spray.  Once hot, scoop ½ C. of batter onto surface.  As soon as batter is poured, lay 3 to 4 strawberry slices on each pancake, pressing each slice in lightly.  Generously sprinkle each pancake with nonpareils.  Let cook about 2 minutes, until the top bubbles and begins to look dry around the edges.  Flip when golden brown.  Cook another 1-2 minutes, until golden brown.  Serve strawberry side up.

Yields 6 Pancakes

Printer-Friendly Version

22 Responses to “strawberry funfetti pancakes”

  1. I think ” What a fantastic looking recipe!” Pancakes are one of my favorite daily breakfasts. i like it.

  2. amazing!! i love how you cut the strawberries into cute tiny hearts :)

  3. We featured this recipe in our weekly food trend blog post. You can check it our here.

    http://blog.recipelion.com/food-trend-recipes-with-funfetti/

    Thanks for all of the great recipes!

  4. Hi! Sorry to bother you but I am desperate. I am trying to use this blog theme and when I select column it still puts my posts in two and my images are really small. Do you have any ideas in how to make my post spread across the whole screen and not show up as two skinny columns? What is the length in inches that you use for the width of your images? I am in the Philippines volunteering for a year and wanted to start this blog to thank my supporters, I appreciate your help! jrauphotography@mac.com

    • Hi there! I’m not sure how helpful the following will be (depends on what you’ve already tried), but here are my suggestions:
      -Go into Appearances>Theme Options and change default 3 columns from “On” to “Off”
      -I don’t know dimensions in inches, pretty sure you can only tell by pixels. Main column is 600, sidebar is 140. Site width total is 790 (Main + Sidebar + 50 = Ideal)
      Pictures I link from Flickr

      Hope this helps!

  5. What a fantastic looking recipe! Pancakes are one of my favorite weekend breakfasts… The “cinnamon roll pancakes” recipe WAS next on my list, but these just might trump them…

    • Sounds like a good idea! Let me know how you like ’em!

      • Jessica, they were definitely a preceft weekend breakfast. We finished them all and probably would have eaten more if I had made them! Salad oil is pretty much any type of oil that you would use to dress a salad- olive, vegetable, canola, sunflower ect. We used oil but I’m sure that substituting the applesauce tastes just as good. Let me know if you try them!

  6. These are ADORABLE! I’m definitely making these later! I also might try putting homemade whipped cream on top instead of powdered sugar or syrup, because one of my favorite weekend breakfasts is waffles piled with fresh strawberries and whipped cream! This is so cute and extremely fun-looking: thank you!

  7. they look so yummy….and pretty!!!

  8. I love this! Pancakes, first and foremost, are the best breakfast food. To me, there is just no arguement. But then the strawberries are almost heart shaped, and the sprinkles? So fun! Thanks for sharing this (first)!

  9. this made me so excited i squealed out loud, hope you dont mind if i pin thanks for sharing jen:madeinminch

  10. I feel the same about the Breakfast waffles at Smitty’s pancake house! Strawberries, whipped cream…two sausages on the side…. and coffee. HEAVEN on Earth!!! My own pancake making skills have improved but sometimes, it’s just better when someone else does the work!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

