cinnamon-scented waffles with bacon & cayenne syrup

DSC_2959

I used to be weird about sharing recipes. Really weird.

I suppose I can explain myself with two simple reasons:

a.) I never used to write my recipes down. I tend to be an “intuitive” cook and like to make decisions in the moment, rather than follow ones pre-made on paper.

b.) My pride for my “propriety” of a recipe was excessive.

My pride – for creativity and culinary “voice” – got in the way, for sure. That was the primary reason I kept my recipes, written out or not, under lock and key.

DSC_3010

Nowadays, I think of my recipes with an entirely different attitude. I’ve taken to actually planning out a recipe, which often involves a certain amount of research. Sometimes I look to the internet for guidance, and other times to my trusty cookbooks. More often than not, though, I probably resort to both. Ingredients, proportions, methods, degrees, time… there are just so many variables.

Once I have the foundation for a recipe, I head into the kitchen and get to work. I make changes as I go, allowing my intuition to guide me the rest if the way. It’s not long before I have a finished product to try. Is it a keeper? A failure? In need of adjustments?

DSC_2991

I know, now, that a recipe is truly successful when someone asks if I’m willing to share it. It’s a huge compliment. Huge. What’s could be a bigger pat on the back than saying, “I enjoyed this so much that I’d like to make it!”?

Not much.

I have to admit, when I started this blog I was still hesitant about sharing recipes. I still feel an attachment to my creations, however innovative or not. It’s a prideful attachment, for sure, but no longer a selfish one.

DSC_2972

When my post about Nuttella Cheesecake Layer Bars was recently featured on WordPress’ Freshly Pressed (perhaps the most exciting day, to date, in the history of The Moonlight Baker), I got such an overwhelmingly positive and appreciative response from you, my lovely readers. Lots of “thank yous.” So many.

I couldn’t possibly respond to all of them, as much as I wanted to. But, again, I say you’re so very welcome. And thank you. Really.

It’s a really rewarding feeling to hear that people trust my pictures and posts enough to try one of my original recipes. And then to hear such rave reviews and see pictures of their end products… without question, it’s the icing on the cake.

DSC_3014

This recipe is a combination of something “borrowed” (the waffles) and something new (the syrup). I found the recipe for the waffles in one of my go-to cookbooks, U.S.A by Sheila Lukins, and altered it ever so slightly. These waffles are super light due to the whipped egg whites and a bit earthy thanks to a healthy dose of cinnamon. Quite a versatile waffle recipe, all around!

The syrup is what makes these waffles unique. Bacon, cayenne pepper, and brown sugar make this syrup sweet, spicy, smoky, and salty. On its own, the syrup is incredibly pungent and, perhaps, a bit aggressive; but with the waffle… oh my, is it delicious.

Be adventurous and give this recipe a try!

Cinnamon-Scented Waffles

adapted slightly from Sheila Lukin’s U.S.A Cookbook

– 2 C. all purpose flour

– 2 Tbsp. dark brown sugar

– 1 Tbsp. baking powder

– ½ tsp. kosher salt

– 4 eggs, separated

– 1 ½ C. milk (whole, preferably)

– 4 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

– 1 tsp. vanilla extract

– 1 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat non-stick waffle iron.

Combine flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a bowl. Set aside.

In another bowl, whisk together egg yolks, milk, melted butter, and vanilla. Add in flour mixture and stir until just combine.

In a separate bowl, beat the egg whites until they form stiff peaks (you can do this by hand). Using a rubber spatula, gently fold egg whites into the batter.

When ready, lightly grease waffle iron. Add just enough batter to cover the plates (you may need to use a rubber spatula to spread the batter out towards the edges). Cook until desired doneness (or according to manufacturer’s instructions). Repeat with remaining batter.

Keep waffles warm in a 200 degree F oven until ready to serve.

Yields 6 Waffles

Bacon, Cayenne, and Brown Sugar Syrup

– 4 slices thick-cut bacon

– 2 Tbsp. honey

– 1 ½ C. water

– 1 ½ C. dark brown sugar, lightly packed

– ½ tsp. cayenne pepper

– 1 cinnamon stick

In a medium-sized sauce pan over medium heat, cook the bacon until crisp. Remove from pan and drain on paper towels, leaving bacon renderings in the pan.

Lower the heat to low and add honey. Whisk immediately; mixture will begin to bubble. Continue whisking and slowly add in water, then brown sugar. Whisk until smooth. Add in cayenne pepper and cinnamon stick.

Raise the heat to medium. Cook syrup for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally, allowing syrup to reduce by a third to a half (depending on desired thickness). Remove from heat and let cool slightly before serving.

To Serve: Generously pour syrup over warm waffle. Garnish with reserved bacon (can be crumbled or left in whole strips). Enjoy!

Printer-Friendly Recipe (Full Recipe)

20 Comments to “cinnamon-scented waffles with bacon & cayenne syrup”

  1. Mmmmm bacon and waffles. This is inspiration for this weekend’s breakfast for sure!

    I’m nominating you for One Lovely Blogger Award! Should you wish to accept, please copy & paste the award image from my site and follow the rules outlined in my latest post.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. I came across your blog while stumbling on StumbleUpon, and perhaps fate it was, but I came unto this post. Sorry, sometimes I like to sound pretentious.

    I can completely relate to your feelings about not wanting to share recipes. I’m definitely one of those intuitive cooks who just enjoy poking around with things and because I’m always hopelessly out of ingredients – I never have the same dish twice. Your post found me at an interesting time, because I recently found another wonderful blog and it really actually made me want to start a food blog. Your blog just helped that push because I’m going to be applying to university next year and I don’t have time with life. But seeing that you, an university-goer can manage, I think I’ll actually go through with it.

    The recipe sounds gorgeous, and I’m really feeling horrid now than ever before. I’ve come across so many recipes with bacon and my religion doesn’t allow pork and we don’t even get turkey bacon where I’m from. Any other alternative or substitutes you might recommend?

    Also, like Emmy, tips on decorating a blog will also be appreciated! x)

    • First off, I want to let you know how flattered I am to hear that my blog helped inspire you to start your very own. That is truly one of the biggest compliments anyone could give. No matter how busy you are, I would definitely encourage you to follow your interest and start a blog of your own. Just know that it will require a good amount of work, dedication, and the occasional disappointment… but it’s all worth it in the end. This really is a rewarding endeavor.

      As far as substituting for the bacon, I would try and find something that’s salty and thin enough to crisp well. It might sound strange, but some kind of pastrami (or turkey pastrami) could work. You can also use liquid smoke to provide a similar smokey flavor to that of the bacon. Just play around with it!

      Lastly, in regards to your question about blog design, I find it to be a very intuitive process as well. My best suggestion would be to play around with the design for a few weeks, or months even, before you launch your blog until you are happy with it. You want to be consistent, so the more sure you are of your design early on, the better. Keep it neat, keep it true to your style, and go with what works for you. Best of luck!

  3. Just came across your blog and I have to say it’s gorgeous! Great photos and fantastic recipes– just the sorts of things I like to make! These waffles look incredible :) I’ll be keeping an eye on your blog from now on.

  4. Your blog is great! This post really caught my eye when I was searching around. Thanks for sharing it.

    • Absolutely, you’re so welcome! (And thank you!)
      In regard to your other questions, I did develop the site on my own via wordpress – very user-friendly. Just figured everything out as I worked on the blog.

  5. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have never tried making waffles yet, it’s on my list of to-do’s!!!

    Just wanted to say that I used to be / still am the same way when it comes to sharing certain recipies of mine, only because it took me forever to figure out what to do to get it right, that I didn’t want to give away my secret just yet! But now I am getting better, and you’re right, having someone like your dish enough to want to know how to make it themselves is a compliment!! So why not share it with them!

  6. This looks amazing! I can’t wait to try this!

  7. i’ve been on a huge breakfast kick lately…this definitely gave me some ideas!
    on a side note, i’m new to blogging and i noticed your blog is obviously not just a template, and i really love all the cute little touches. i’m interested in learning how to personalize my own blog, and am completely clueless as to how all of this stuff works- do you have to known html? since your blog is so adorable, any tips at all would be awesome!

  8. I wanna have this for breakfast

  9. Man… I can barely remember the last time I had a reallt good waffle. Or had a waffle in general. Plus, bacon syrup? *Squeals* I need to try this out. I just need to find a waffle iron to use.
    I agree with the breakfast for dinner idea, best thing on a movie night. :)

  10. Almost Lunch time here and this post is make me hungry for waffles and baaaccccooonn – might be drooling soon:)

Leave a Reply

