frozen mocha

DSC_2342

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe we’ve already discussed how much I need enjoy my morning cup of coffee.

A lot.

Last week, I was away from some of the comforts of home – my computer, TiVo (does that even count?), a kitchen, and freshly-brewed coffee.

I don’t mean to make it sound like there was no coffee to be found within a 50 mile radius – because there was.  There was, however, no coffee to be found in said radius that cost less than $4 for an 8oz. serving. 

Bummer.

DSC_2354

When I got home from my trip, there was a brand new blender ready and waiting for me.  Shiny black base, bright blue digital screen, and a professional rectangular-shaped pitcher.

Coffee drinks, anyone?

Of course, I couldn’t resist adding in some cocoa and turning the frozen coffee mixture into a mocha.  And why not top it with some fresh whipped cream?  For good luck?

For good measure.

The finishing touch – crushed chocolate graham crackers.  Also for good measure! :]

DSC_2343

This drink is rich in coffee and chocolate flavor and is faintly sweet.  If you prefer a slightly less intense coffee or chocolate flavor, feel free to add more sugar and/or heavy cream and limit the amount of cocoa powder.  This recipe is easy to doctor to your liking.  Take advantage of being your own barista!

Frozen Mocha

– 1 ¼ Strong Brewed Coffee, chilled

– 3 Tbsp. Dutch Process Cocoa Powder

– 3 Tbsp. Lightly-Packed Brown Sugar

– 2 Tbsp. Heavy Cream

– ¼ tsp. Vanilla Extract

– 2 C. Ice

– Freshly Whipped Cream (sweetened or unsweetened), for garnish

– Chocolate Graham Crackers – crushed, for garnish

Add coffee, cocoa powder, brown sugar, heavy cream, vanilla extract, and ice in the pitcher of a blender.  Blend on high-speed (or milkshake/ ice-crush setting) until completely blended and frothy. 

Pour coffee mixture into even servings.  Top with whipped cream and a sprinkle of graham crackers.  Serve immediately. 

Yields 3-4 Servings 

Printer-Friendly Recipe

11 Comments to “frozen mocha”

  1. I would like to be a good cook! but I´m a disaster when it comes to cooking. Very nice blog!

  2. that looks so amazing! i’m always trying to come up with a good iced coffee..they always seem to be either too watery or too milky, but i’m gonna give this one a shot. like right now..:)

    http://oneinchapart.wordpress.com/

  3. that looks absolutely amazing i cant wait to try it :D

  4. Yum! Maybe a little chocolate syrup too.

  5. Funny you mention new blenders – I’m interested in one that will easily crush ice for smoothies, but I didn’t think in terms of coffee drinks – sounds so yummy!

Leave a Reply

