‘cherry garcia’ brownies

DSC_2270

Remember my first post about brownies?

Seven months later and I’m back at it again.  Dense, chocolatey, decadent brownies with a perfectly-cracked top “crust.” 

Oh yeah, now this is a dessert!

DSC_2248

I almost can’t believe that I haven’t made brownies for you since August.  I hope I didn’t deprive you.

And if I did . . . well, this recipe should make up for it.

Waiiiiiiiit a minute – we need to back-up. 

August?  August!  I’ve been blogging since August?!

DSC_2209

DSC_2216

Wow. 

I know that in a grand scheme, seven months really isn’t that long.  But for me, and this blog, it’s a pretty big deal. 

About a year ago, I started a different blog (whose name I will refrain from sharing).  The focus was more so on the culinary world rather than my own cooking, though I did share a few recipes here and there.  Soon after its creation, posting seemed like such a drag – like there was this unnecessary pressure to post far too often.  The project soon transformed from an exciting new endeavor to a big burden. 

No wonder why it only lasted a month. 

DSC_2255

When I started The Moonlight Baker this summer, I honestly had no idea what to expect.  Would it become a brief muse?  A personal recipe log?  A longtime commitment?

I had no real plan or expectations.  Just an impulse to start a food blog. 

I think the reason TMB has been successful thus far is two-fold:

  1. I have great readers, such as you!
  2. My posts are personal and (I hope) relatable.

But really, were it not for you guys, I don’t think I’d be as motivated to continue to improve this blog and, in turn, myself.  I believe I owe you a “thank you.”

Or two.

Or three.

Or many. 

DSC_2153

DSC_2243

These brownies are ridiculous – and I say that in the best way possible.  The chocolate has a really assertive, rich flavor from the combination of semi-sweet chocolate and Dutch-process cocoa powder, while the cherries, soaked in amaretto, add an acidic zing and a bit of an alcohol-induced warmth ( . . . does that sound weird?).  The texture is also fantastic – the center is a dense and ultra fudgy while the edges are slightly more cake-like; definitely the best of both worlds!  And I love the way the top of this brownie cracks – so rustic, charming. 

Happy brownie baking!

DSC_2275

‘Cherry Garcia’ Brownies

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook

– ½ C. Unsalted Butter, cubed and at room temperature

– 6 oz. Semi-Sweet Chocolate

– 2 Tbsp. Dutch Process Cocoa Powder

– 1 ¼ C. Granulated Sugar

– 4 Eggs

– 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

– ¾ C. All Purpose Flour

– ½ tsp. Kosher Salt

– 2 Tbsp. Amaretto

– ¾ C. Dried Bing Cherries

– 1 oz. Bittersweet Chocolate, coarsely chopped

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Line a 9” springform with parchment paper.  Butter the bottom and sides; set aside.

In a small bowl, mix together bing cherries and amaretto.  Let sit for 20 minutes. 

 Meanwhile, melt semi-sweet chocolate and butter together in a medium-sized bowl set over a double boiler.  Once melted, remove from heat and cool for about 15 minutes. 

 Add sugar to cooled chocolate mixture.  Beat until combined.  Add in eggs one at a time; beat until smooth.  Stir in vanilla extract and salt.  Mix in flour and cocoa powder; stir until just about incorporated.  Gently mix in bing cherries (with any remaining liquid/ syrup) and bittersweet chocolate.  Do not overmix.

 Transfer batter to prepared springform; spread so that the surface is smooth.  Bake on center rack of the oven for about 40 – 45 minutes, or until a cake tester yields a few moist crumbs (from the center).

 Remove from oven and cool on a cooling rack in springform completely.  Once cooled, run a knife around the edges of the pan to release the brownie.  Release springform; transfer to serving platter.  Dust with powdered sugar if desired. 

 Yields 12 Servings

 Printer-Friendly Recipe

20 Responses to “‘cherry garcia’ brownies”

  1. I’m dying to make these. However, I don’t want to soak the cherries in amaretto. Do you have any other suggestions?

    • You could skip soaking them entirely, but I happen to like the flavor the amaretto adds. You could also try using a different liquer that you may prefer, or soak them in a bit of water and then later on drain off the excess water.

  2. you are actually a genius! your photography is excellent, your deserts look divine!

  3. who said perfection didn’t exist !! He never saw your brownie

  4. Those look amazing! What type of camera do you use? I just started a blog with a slight food focus (although I think it’s about to have a MAJOR food focus) and my photos look like polaroids compared to yours!

    • Thank you!
      I shoot with a Nikon D3000 fitted with a 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX VR Nikkor Zoom Lens. My photos have definitely improved since I started blogging in August – just keep working at it, you’ll get there! :]

  5. Yum, these sound (and look) delectable! Glad to have come across your blog Kim, I’ll be back! :)
    Amanda

  6. Wow that looks good: the perfect balance of gooey and crusty!

  7. Can i use canned cherries instead?

  8. This is not human !!!! superdelicious !!!!

  9. Wow! These sound so good! I love Cherry Garcia! Going to have to try these soon!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

