coconut lime bars

DSC_1971

I can’t remember the last time I’ve seen this much snow – on my lawn, in the streets, and piled like Mount Everest in shopping center parking lots.

It’s crazy. 

Insane. 

Overwhelming. 

Inescapable. 

I feel like I’m living in a snow globe.

DSC_1942

But in all honesty, I don’t really mind. 

I love the way freshly-fallen snow looks – a blanket of pure white, as if, ironically, to keep the ground warm. 

I love the way is sits on the tree branches – forms a canopy for me to drive under and allows the sun to peek through every now and then. 

And, days after a snowfall, I love seeing the little footprints of  animals that pranced around on the now densely-packed powder.

DSC_1943
DSC_1948

Even still, it’s easy to get caught up thinking about warmer weather – not having to wear layers upon layers, beaing able to walk around barefoot.

Not having to scrape ice crystals off the car, fingers freezing all the while. 

These Coconut Lime Bars are a tropical escape from the frigid temperatures.  The crust is a bit doughy and absorbs some of the lovely lime filling.  The filling is tart, as any citrus bar should be, with a punch of distinctly lime flavor.  The coconut adds a bit of nuttiness, as well as a hint of sweetness.  The finishing touch – a drizzle of white chocolate – also helps offset the tartness of the filling. 

A shortbread crust would pair nicely with the filling as well.  However, I wanted the filling the be the star of this dish, and not a flaky, buttery cookie crust.  Feel free to mix it up, though!

DSC_1900

Coconut Lime Bars

Adapted from Joy of Baking

Crust:

– 1 C. All Purpose Flour

– 6 Tbsp. Unsalted Butter, cubed and chilled

– 2 Tbsp. Granulated Sugar

– 1 Egg

– ¼ tsp. Kosher Salt

– Ice Water, if necessary

Lime Filling:

– 1 C. Sweetened, Flaked Coconut, toasted

– 2/3 C. Granulated Sugar

– 2 Eggs

– ½ C. Freshly Squeezed Lime Juice

– 1 Tbsp. Freshly Grated Lime Zest

– 2 Tbsp. All Purpose Flour

– Scant ½ C. White Chocolate, for drizzling

Prepare the Crust:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. 

Butter an 8 x 8 baking dish and line with parchment paper, making sure to leave some parchment hanging over the edges to act as “handles.”

In the bowl of a food processor, pulse together flour, sugar, and salt.  Add in butter and pulse until there are pea-sized pieces of the butter throughout.  Add egg and pulse until just combined.  When pinched, the mixture should stick to itself.  If necessary, add in a little bit of ice water to reach this consistency. 

Press dough into the bottom of the prepared baking dish (it will be sticky).  Prick the dough all over with a fork.  Bake until firm to the touch, about 15 to 20 minutes.  Remove from the oven and cool. 

Prepare the Filling:

Lower the oven to 350 degrees F.

Beat together sugar and eggs until smooth.  Add in lime juice and zest.  Add in flour and mix until combined. 

Spread the toasted coconut over the baked crust.  Pour lime mixture on top.  Bake on the center rack of the oven until the filling is set, about 15 to 20 minutes.  Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack.  Once cooled, slice into squares.

If desired, melt the white chocolate and drizzle over sliced squares.  Refrigerate until ready to serve. 

Yields 9 Large Squares, 16 Small Squares

Printer- Friendly Version

DSC_1862

22 Comments to “coconut lime bars”

  1. I know I’m a bit late to the table, but what a terrific recipe to have featured on FoodPress! I’m a big fan of lime, coconut and warm weather (which we’re not having where I live either – although most of the snow has melted). I will put these bars on my “to bake” list!

  2. Lemon bars are AWESOME!! Yours look DEEELICIOUS! :)

  3. My husband loves lemon bars… these look like they take it up a notch. I can’t wait to try them.

  4. Looks very tasty – I may just have to make my own gluten-free version!

  5. Wow what a perfect creation, your a baking wonder

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  6. These look AMAZING!!! I can’t wait to try them! :)

  7. Looks amazing! I loove lime and coconut!:) I made a coconut cake the other day, the frosting was sooo rich i can still taste it in my mouth:) I think Ill try this, its very different from hungarian cakes, ill guess the people will like it:)

  8. yummy! my hubby is a lime fiend, so i will make these for valentine’s day :) btw, i like running on my treadmill in front of the food network too!

  9. Congrats on having your recipe featured! You had me at Coconut and Lime! I love your tagline, I also watch Foodnetwork while running. Here’s another one, I am often caught doing pilates in the dining room while I”m waiting for water to boil or roasting some veggies. :-). I might have to make these!

  10. These sound – and look – really lovely! I’m excited about all things coconut at the moment, so these fit right onto my “what to make next” list :-)

Leave a Reply

