chocolate shortbread fingers

DSC_1238

Over the past five or so months, I have learned an abundance about blogging.  Food blogging, in particular.  Shall I share a brief list with you?  Why not!

1.) As a new blogger, the majority of your readers are friends or family.  Really, this is not all that surprising.

2.) Blogging is addicting.  Fact.

3.) Your computer hard-drive becomes overloaded with pictures.

4.) The absurd quantity of pictures seems even more absurd when you consider the fact that the pictures are of food . . . and only food.

5.) Speaking of pictures, bigger isn’t always better.  I doubt you want to spend an hour waiting for all the pictures on a single blog post to load.  I sure don’t!

6.) Taste Spotting is very critical when accepting submissions. 

7.) Dessert Stalking is not. 

8.) Post titles should be straight-forward (unlike this list is turning out to be).

9.) There’s a lot of butter involved.  It’s dangerous.

10.) Exercise is recommended.

DSC_1189

Today, we’re breaking out the butter (see number 9, above).  Oh yes.  Three whole sticks.  (In which case you might want to break out the yoga mat and your sneakers, too.  Just a thought.)

Shortbread is a really simple, really delicious kind of cookie.  As a general rule of thumb, shortbreads are super buttery, flaky, and not overly sweet.  These guys certainly do not disappoint.

DSC_1159

With a touch of chocolate and a hint of cinnamon, they are twice as flavorful and ultra satisfying.  I mean, how can you go wrong with chocolate and cinnamon?

Another thing I love about this recipe is that the cookies aren’t rolled.  Often times, shortbread cookies call for breaking out the rolling pin and some fancy cutters.  Not this time.  Instead, the dough is spread out on a baking sheet, baked until just firm, sliced when hot, and finished with a sprinkling of granulated sugar. 

DSC_1146

Now, I can’t take full credit for this recipe.  It actually comes from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook.  Not that I’m the authority on cookbooks, but this one is seriously amazing.  It spans so many different aspects of baking – from homemade croissants, to fresh bread, to gorgeous cakes, and simple cookies such as these.  I must’ve flipped through it a ridiculous number of times by now.

DSC_1227

But if you don’t happen to own Martha’s handbook and still want to make these cookies, do not worry!  I’ve saved you the legwork of going to your local Borders book store.  :)

Chocolate Shortbread Fingers

Printer-Friendly Version

From Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook

-3 Stickes Unsalted Butter, room temperature

-2 ½ C. + 2 Tbsp. All Purpose Flour

-4 ½ Tbsp. Dutch-process Cocoa Powder (I only had Hershey’s, so that’s what I went with)

-Heaping ½ tsp. Ground Cinnamon

-½ tsp. Kosher Salt

-¼ tsp. Baking Soda

-1 C. Superfine Sugar

-Granulated Sugar, For Sprinkling

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Butter a 12×8 inch rimmed baking sheet, and line with parchment paper, leaving a 1-inch overhang on long sides; set aside.  In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, cinnamon, salt, and baking soda until combined. 

In an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat butter and superfine sugar on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, 3 to 4 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl.  Add flour mixture, and beat on medium speed until just combined. 

Using a small offset spatula, evenly spread dough in prepared baking sheet.  Chill in the freezer or refrigerator until dough is firm, about 15 minutes.  Prick dough all over with a fork; bake until just firm to the touch, about 20 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack.  While still hot, use a large knife to cut shortbread into 4×1 inch pieces.  Sprinkle with graulated sugar.  Cool completely in the pan.  Shortbread can be kept in an air-tight container at room temperature for up to 1 week. 

(I did not have the size baking sheet suggested in the recipe; instead, I used a 10×15.  The cookies, which took about the same amount of time to bake, were thinner than intended, though still super delicious.  Also, I preferred the cookies on the second and third days after baking rather than immediately after.  Must be all that butter!)

DSC_1248

29 Responses to “chocolate shortbread fingers”

  1. I’m new to your blog, but I’m already a fan. Cherry Garcia brownies? Chocolate shortbread? Good God, woman. I will be fat. It will be your fault. ;P

    Your list on blogging cracks me up. I’ve recently been wallowing in self-pity/self-loathing for my inability to blog properly, so I appreciate your humor. However, I have to say, you have the food photo thing down pat. I’m sooooooo hungry right now!

    I’m going to see if I can make these with what I have in the kitchen… mmmmmmmmmmmm. :)

  2. I made a chocolate shortbread with a hint of cinnamon once, it was delicious! Then I lost the recipe. Looks like this might be the one! Thanks.

  3. I love that book, it has provided me with many a good recipe. Haven’t tried the chocolate fingers yet, but it looks like yours came out really well. Keep up the awesome baking!

  4. Those look wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for the recipe!

  5. I love your list. As a new blogger myself, I think I can relate to all of them! The shortbread looks lovely as well.

  6. I can’t wait to try these!

  7. This recipe sounds heavenly! My most recent post was also about shortbread so this seems to be the Week of Butter! :) I’m definitely going to try these and likely I’m also going to check out the cookbook you mentioned!

    I started my food blog barely a month ago and I have to agree with your list, especially 1, 2, and 10! :) I hadn’t heard of either website in 6 or 7 so thanks for the links! Can I ask why you prefer Tastespotting over Dessertstalking?

    • Thank you! Butter is a must this time of year! :]
      I prefer tastespotting mainly because it gets more traffic. It’s definitely more selective when it comes to accepting photos, but it’s worth trying again and again until one of your pics. gets published.

  8. This chocolate shortbread looks amazing. Very nice post. And I love the name of your blog..

  9. I love shortbread but have never made chocolate shortbread. Of course it sounds delicious. Beautiful photos, too.

  10. Thank you for the blogging information…I only started yesterday, so I need all the tips I can get. I’m a chocolate lover and your chocolate shortbread fingers really look tempting! Bravissima and best regards from Italy!

  11. Excellent food photography, It makes the food more delightful. Those shortbread fingers are yummy

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  12. absolutely beautiful photographs. love your sense of humor!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

