banana colada muffins

DSC_0758

It’s not even the dead of winter, and I have the heater in my room running pretty much 24/7.   Everytime I open my door, there’s a draft from the chilly hallway.  Everytime someone enters my room, I hear, “I feel like I’m in Florida!” 

So then I think, “Oh, but you’re not – we’re not. Couldn’t you tell by my layers upon layers of sweatpants and long sleeves?”

Did I mention that it snowed just the other morning?  Mmhmm, that’s right.  It snowed – in November. 

Yup . . . it’s getting pretty cold in my neck of the woods.

DSC_0778

So instead of making hot chocolate, I made these guys: Banana Colada Muffins. 

Trust me, I know that hot chocolate and things of that nature are winter-appropriate foods.  But when I made these, my logic was a bit (okay, a lot) different.

These muffins scream “TROPICAL.”  Between the pineapple and the coconut, one bite makes you feel like you’re laying out on an amazing Caribbean beach, Piña Colada in hand.  Doesn’t that sound good, especially in the almost-but-not-really dead of winter? 

The bananas are a great base for this recipe.  Their flavor works really nicely with the pineapple and coconut, without being overwhelming.  Texturally, the combination of the crushed pineapple and the banana keeps the muffins super moist.  And, for an added bonus, the bananas allow for a smaller percentage of fat to be used in this recipe.  (Which, of course, means you can have that extra slice of pecan pie during the holidays.  It’s all about balance, obviously!)

Enjoy!

DSC_0784

 

Banana Colada Muffins

Printer-Friendly Version

Yields 18 Muffins

Adapted from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking

– 1 ½ C. Mashed Banana (about 4 medium-sized bananas)

– 2/3 C. Sugar

– ½ C. Buttermilk

– ¼ C. Canola Oil

– 1 Lg. Egg

– 1 ½ C. AP Flour

– 1 ½ tsp. Baking Soda

– ½ tsp. Baking Powder

– 1 tsp. Kosher Salt

– 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

– 6 oz. Crushed Pineapple, well drained*

– 4 oz. Sweetened Coconut (shredded), divided evenly

*The pineapple doesn’t have to be completely dry – just make sure that it’s not dripping with juice as this will change the accuracy of its weight. 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease 2 muffin tin.  Set aside.

In a medium-sized bowl, mix together banana, buttermilk, oil, egg, vanilla extract, and sugar. 

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Make a well in the center of the bowl; pour in the banana mixture.  Stir until just combined – do not over-mix!  Fold in pineapple and half of the coconut.

Fill each cup about 2/3 of the way.  Sprinkle tops evenly with remaining coconut.

Bake on the center rack of the oven for 25-30 minutes until a cake tester comes out clean and the muffins (and coconut topping) are golden brown. 

Let the muffins cool in the pan for 15 minutes.  Remove from pans and cool the rest of the way on a cooling rack.
DSC_0769

2 Comments to “banana colada muffins”

  1. Hi this looks likes an awesome recipe, the pics are just mouth watering, combining one of my favorite treats banana muffins with my favorite drink pina colada..Genius !

Leave a Reply

