undying love: chocolate chip cookies

I woke up this morning feeling rather optimistic. 

I thought that I was going to get a lot of work done today – tackle the pile of assignments that has been waiting for me.  Make a dent.  Feel productive.

But that didn’t happen.  Tomorrow is looking pretty good for yet another feeble attempt. 

I was productive in one sense: I baked.  Chocolate chip cookies to be exact. 

I think I was trying to convince myself that I could bypass my final year of high school and still be successful solely because of my ability to make a decent batch of cookies. 

If only the world worked that way.  Damn. 

I don’t know what it is about the classic chocolate chip cookie that leaves me spellbound everytime I take a bite of one.  Maybe it’s because they’re so simple.  Maybe it’s because they’re so unpretentious.  And maybe it’s because they’re just so delicious.

This recipe has become my staple chocolate chip cookie recipe.  Though I have modified it countless times, I have yet to be disappointed by its outcome.  Today, I decided to make BIG cookies (something I do very infrequently) for the fun of it.  And indeed it was fun.

It was a party.

Please don’t ask me how many times I had to refill that measuring cup with chocolate chips . . . I probably couldn’t tell you anyway.

 . . . Or maybe I just choose not to.

BIG Chocolate Chip Cookies

Printer-Friendly Version

Yields 10 Large Cookies

-2 Large Eggs

-3/4 C. Brown Sugar, Lightly Packed

-3/4 C. Granulated Sugar

-1 Stick Unsalted Butter, Melted and Cooled

-1 tsp. Vanilla Extract

-2 C. All Purpose Flour

-1 tsp. Kosher Salt

-3/4 tsp. Baking Soda

-1 C. Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F, making sure that the racks are arranged in the center of the oven.  Prepare heavy-bottomed baking sheets with parchment paper.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat eggs with both kinds of sugar.  Beat until smooth.  Then slowly whisk in melted butter and vanilla extract.  The mixture should look thick, shiny, and leave a “ribbon” when tousled with a whisk or spoon.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. 

Add the flour mixture into the egg mixture, stirring with a wooden spoon or rubber spatula.  Be careful not to overmix.  Before just combined, add in the chocolate chips and stir until evenly distributed.

Next, scoop the dough out onto the baking sheets.  You can either do this by using a large ice cream scoop (as I did) or by portioning the dough into 10 sections and rolling them into balls.  Be sure to space the dough on the baking sheet as they will spread (I kept 4 to a baking sheet).

Bake for 12-14 minutes until golden brown.  Remove from the oven and allow the cookies to cool on the baking sheet for 3 or so minutes.  Then transfer to a cooling rack.

Straight-up chewy goodness encased in a golden brown exterior. 

Heaven.

10 Responses to “undying love: chocolate chip cookies”

  1. YUMM! You can’t ever go wrong with chocolate chip cookies..especially when you make them BIG!

  2. i could just smell the goodness!!!

  3. Oooo, those look good……

  4. Yummy! This recipe is perfect for our chocolate day this weekend here in our subdivision. Thanks for sharing this. Gooey chocolate cookies are truly delicious.

  5. I also have many times to refill my cup of chocolate chips since I almost eat them one by one. I can’t resist it. Lol. Your recipe is very easy and simple. I should try this one and let my kids taste it if they like it or not but I’m sure they will love this since it has chocolates and it is chewy.

  6. Hey Kim! Thanks for checking out my blog :) These cookies look amazing! I can’t really think of anything better than warm and gooey chocolate chip cookies…. except maybe warm and gooey brownies courtesy of Ina Garten and her genius :)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

